#PedagooBrum24

I attended my first ASCL Council meeting the week before last. This was preceded by my first National Conference in March this year, ironically in Birmingham, and before that ASCL’s new HT course at the end of my first year of headship in July ’22. At each event I’ve been inspired by the quality of  speakers and people I’ve met. Inspired enough to give back and do some more to help others and most importantly to help me.

Listening to Evelyn Forde at the National Conference inspired me to try to become a regional rep for ASCL. Her call to arms was about the role the profession plays as the fourth emergency service and to be more professionally stroppy.

Now some colleagues may think that’s my natural disposition, however I understood it to be more clear in and beyond our schools about what we can offer as educators and the additional work we have needed to do during the ongoing Pandemic with very limited resources.

A time to say enough is enough.

Not just for those teaching now but for those who are put off joining our vocation. And most importantly so that we can support our young people who have had an appalling deal post lockdown.

At my first Council Meeting I listened equally attentively to the new president of the union Jon Cam. With the aid of an excellent video about the impact he has had in his schools he explained his life story and his desire for interconnected leadership in this important year. In March ASCL will be celebrating its 150th Birthday in Liverpool and hopefully we will be heading to the polling booths sooner rather than later. When we work as a collective I think we can make a real difference in our schools and communities and also at a local and a national level.

I’m ready for a change and ready for some better working conditions for our teachers and young people.

Driving back from the Midlands to Hampshire after the Council meeting I was processing all of the sessions I had taken part in and particularly Jon’s inspirational speech.

When I got home I decided to write about my inspiration as part of my “why”. Twenty nine years in education and time to deal with some demons.

Our Joanne https://wp.me/p4VbxY-HM

In the blog above I explained the importance of my family to me and particularly my sister. I’ve been overwhelmed by the support I have received about speaking about my trauma. This significant event has impacted every relationship I’ve had since the events of 1994 but now I know that there is help out there if I need it. It turns out it’s never too late to start dealing with your “stuff”.

As part of my personal wellbeing I’ve enjoyed #teacher5aday and #pedagoohampshire. It hits my #learn, #connect, #volunteer and #notice all in one. That’s why it’s great for my wellbeing and it can be for you!

My negative experiences in life and work have been supported by the amazing people I’ve met through both initiatives. They have been the best staffroom I could imagine.

After the successes of #pedagoohampshire23 and #pedagoohampshire22 at The Hayling College I’ve decided to try and branch out this year. In total I’ve hosted 6 events in Hampshire under the Pedagoo banner in an attempt to be the” in person” version of the #teacher5aday community that coincidentally will celebrate its tenth birthday next year.

So on the 10th of February 2024 both Angela @deputyschofield and I are very excited to host #PedagooBrum24 at Colmers Farm Primary School in the second city of Birmingham.

The first job is to recruit some speakers for our learning conversations. We are going back to our Pedagoo roots and we want teachers to share their passion projects. To facilitate learning conversations based around the five elements of #teacher5aday. How can you help other teachers with the best PD. Learning from excellent teachers to be better at the job of teaching.

I often get feedback about anxiety regarding presenting. As the boy who blushed beatroot red when any teacher asked me a question at school if I can do it then so can anyone. The next most frequent feedback I receive is how supportive the #teacher5aday crowd is. Ego is checked into the cloakroom. We are equal at a pedagoo event and we all lift each other up.

So if you are interested in hosting a learning conversation of about 45 minutes sign up is here …..

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/pedagoobrum24-presenters-tickets-738772888597

Then we need to get an audience together. Hopefully Birmingham is more accessible than Hayling Island and I’m guessing by Feb 24 we might be in need of a wellbeing multivitamin or two.

Unlike other Saturday PD events #PedagooHampshire has been FREE. Why change a successful formula. With breakfast and lunch included in your FREE ticket you will go home with ideas to reduce workload, to improve your well-being and fully nourished.

Free tickets are here …..

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/pedagoobrum24-tickets-738775977837

For those not aware of how #Teacher5aday has developed over the last decade it has transformed from a simple idea for a hashtag into a social media campaign and movement aimed at promoting the well-being and self-care of teachers. I think its success can be attributed to several factors:

  1. Community Support: #Teacher5aday has created a supportive online community where educators can share their experiences and strategies for maintaining their well-being in a safe space. This sense of belonging and support has been an integral part of our success and is crucial particularly in the current climate.
  2. Practical Tips: The community of teachers in classrooms living the day to day life of five lessons back to back offer practical tips and suggestions for other teachers to improve their work-life balance, manage stress, and take care of their mental and physical health. These actionable steps have proven valuable for educators around the world.
  3. Awareness: #Teacher5aday has raised awareness about the importance of teacher well-being. It has drawn attention to the challenges that teachers face and highlighted the need for a more balanced and sustainable approach to education.
  4. Advocacy: The campaign has also become a platform for advocacy, promoting policies and practices that support teachers’ well-being and mental health in schools.
  5. Engagement: Through social media, #Teacher5aday has engaged teachers, education professionals, and the broader community in conversations about teacher wellness, creating a positive and constructive dialogue.
  6. Adaptability: The campaign can be personalised to fit individual needs and circumstances, making it accessible and relevant to a wide range of educators.

Overall, our collective success is as a result of our ability to address the pressing issue of teacher well-being, foster a supportive community, and providing practical tools and resources for teachers to improve their lives both in and out of the classroom.

If you want to find out more why not come along to Birmingham on the 10.2.24 and meet the #teacher5aday community in real life.

Ps – some people have asked about accommodation – The nearest hotel is the Premier Inn Longbridge B31 2UQ.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.