#teacher5aday #diarytoolkit collaboration (Group 2) – getting started

I started my first blog with the #teacher5aday #diarytoolkit group 1 in the same way on the16.9.20.

As I sit here in my kitchen dancing along to Gok Wan’s (@therealgokwan) #SundayService on the 31.1.21, it’s confession time again.

I am still yet to start my diary!

Just like last time, I have been inspired again to keep a close eye on my hours (#50isplenty https://chriseyreteaching.wordpress.com/2016/10/29/50-is-plenty/ )and make sure that I am working hard to take as many “wellbeing multivitamins” as I can. My 50p coin is sitting on the corner of my desk and with the help of Mr Wicks (@thebodycoach) and my Run Everyday Challenge for 2021 I am making sure I am thinking about one of my five elements each day to try to focus my thoughts on the positive and keep in the present.

I hope you have managed to consider your pledge and made a start on your diary. It has been great to read those shared on twitter and I am happy to post any of your contributions on my blog if you would like to share it with a wider audience. Here are some from last time to help those of you who need some extra help to get started https://martynreah.wordpress.com/2020/09/24/teacher5aday-pledges-from-the-diary-toolkit-pilot-collaboration/.

New research from Ohio State University https://news.osu.edu/share-your-goals–but-be-careful-whom-you-tell/ suggests that people tend to be more committed to their goals after they share them with someone who they see as “higher status,” or whose opinions they respect. Perhaps even that conversation at work or a home might make the difference this term?

I thought it might be useful to think about the work of Dr Sue Roffey that influenced so much of the #teacher5aday hashtag. Her article is here  https://www.researchgate.net/publication/285631404_Pupil_wellbeing_-Teacher_wellbeing_Two_sides_of_the_same_coin and the quote in the summary section made me think about what we as a profession may need to focus on over the next few weeks and months.

“We also need to look after our teachers – they are the critical and pivotal force in providing an environment where students can feel safe, happy, healthy and, therefore, learn!”

If you are looking for a transition activity next week I would recommend listening to the Ben Hunt – Davis episode on “Don’t Tell me the Score” with Simon Mundie https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p089n7q1.

I found it very useful to help me think about “what will make my boat go faster every day” or “how can I be a happier teacher” in this turbulent time. It would be great to hear some of your key questions and if the podcast helped you with your pledge and your quest to develop some healthy habits.

And finally don’t forget your checklists inspired by Harry Fletcher- Wood’s (@HFletcherWood) blog https://improvingteaching.co.uk/2014/05/10/miracle-on-the-hudson-what-can-teachers-learn-from-atul-gawandes-checklist-manifesto/. Get sharing using the #3goodthings #teacher5aday #diarytoolkit gratitude check in at the end of every day and let’s see what happens for next month.

If you want some #exercise inspiration #teacher5aday #fitfeb is back with daily challenges at different levels for you to try. https://teacher5aday.weebly.com/#

That’s it from me.

I am going to have a cup of tea and start my dairy.

See you at the @bupafoundation sessions and have a great week.

M

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.