#teacher5aday #slowchatC19 – my experience of having the covid-19 virus (at least I think I had it!)

A week on from the start of #teacher5aday #slowchatC19 I think I’m in recovery from a dose of the virus. I write this NOT for sympathy but hopefully to provide others an understanding of what they might experience.

Needed R and R

Last Saturday morning, after a much earlier than usual wake up, I went downstairs for breakfast. My daughters and wife arrived at different times. Last week this was done in a relaxed style. There was none of our normal rush to get ready to make it out of the house to get to our tap and ballet classes on time! Something we realised last weekend we had been doing for 9 years.

My middle daughter (M), my wife and I all had sore throats. My daughter had been up in the night with a temperature. My wife had a headache and I had aches and pains across my chest and a dry cough. Separately the symptoms in “normal times” would not have caused a complete change in our plans. A mild cold perhaps. Some tablets and we would be on our way for a weekend of sport and visiting family. Not last weekend! We followed the advice on the 111 website https://111.nhs.uk/covid-19 and decided to take the decision to self isolate.

Last weekend I was looking forward to using the gift of time wisely which had been granted by this virus. As a family we were transitioning from normality to Schools out for Summer (except we are only in March)! Our routine during term time is metronomic. As the girls get older the more we spend time investing in their activities beyond the school gates the better. In my view it’s money in the bank when I look at their personal development. The logistics are epic but worth it. In this honeymoon period of covid-19 I have wondered how losing these activities and the associated connections will impact on the girls over the mid to longer term.

On reflection, I wonder if some of my insomnia could be placed at the door of the virus. It has hung around for a couple of weeks along with a niggle on my left hand side under the rib cage. What was most difficult to start with was wondering if I had the virus and then slowing down to deal with it, rather than carrying on as normal and being dismissive of what was happening.

With a busy week under our belts we began to reimagine the house on Saturday from family home to school workhouse. An activity I’m sure most, but not all, were completing across the country. Rooms were tidied, the garage emptied and garden furniture put out. I’m so pleased we’ve had decent weather this week otherwise I’m not sure how things might have developed with everyone stuck in doors 24/7.

During the first couple of days my thoughts turned to those I had worked with closely during the previous week, my parents and in-laws. I went through my own version of contact tracing to get in touch to explain my predicament. The guilt associated with being a potential spreader was very palpable. My initial worry was for others and particularly those at most risk. Trying to support both sets of parents to change their behaviour has been the most challenging. Especially by remote control.

To help them stop just popping out to the shops!

To help them to understand how they could minimise their risk by staying at home but also understanding the associated dangers of loneliness and isolation.

Daily #exercise is important!

On Saturday I started to realise that I didn’t need to get everything ready for the next 6 months by the end of the day. By Monday we were ready to home learn and good enough was good enough.

Keeping a brave face on things, whilst all being in the same house seemed like the right strategy.

M who is made of granite was confined to bed for 2 days.

This on reflection was another signal. 100% attendance is her aim in every aspect of her life.

On Friday I pick the girls up from school. (This is my contribution to the jigsaw which is our family logistics every week. Our school day changed to an earlier start stopping my usual drop off on the odd day I didn’t have a 8.00am meeting. Those days seem like a long time ago now!) After pick up M would eat a snack in the car, be dropped off for 2 hrs of gymnastics, picked up and join us for an hour of hockey training and, every other friday, stay for a further hour and a half of additional goalkeeper training. This duracell bunny of a 11 yr old child would have her tea at 9ish to be ready for dance the next day. To be on self imposed bed rest was significant.

M is 95% of her mum and 5% of me. With my wife feeling the symptoms and then getting out of breath going up stairs this was also a major flag. Having both adults less than 100% was a little more than difficult on reflection.

On a personal note day 3, 4 and 5 were definitely the days I noticed things were getting more serious. The cough became more repetitive. The aches and pains more wide spread, around my rib cage front and back. I had a gripping pain internally, especially when I was trying to get to sleep. My sore throat got worse. Breathing became more laboured and in the afternoon I was very tired but unable to switch off and go to sleep. These symptoms happened in waves. In the mornings I would feel better, in the afternoon less so. I was in a state on confusion and dizziness. Not part of the conversation. Staying self isolated as a family unit was also difficult as was trying to keep in touch with work.

My original thoughts from last week did help us get through and in this  time of difficulty I think we will stay with it again next week.

We created a loose plan every day.

We worked on a day to day basis as a family.

We were kind to each other.

I reached out and connected with family, friends and colleagues more than ever drawing strength from them collectively.

I noticed more of the simple things. The joy of spending time together as a family. Being in our garden. Eating together. By doing these things we reaffirmed our family values.

We were grateful for everyone staying healthy!

Day 6 and 7 have been different. My breathing has improved. Less pain. More sleep. I did make the vow to a trusted friend to have a week of R and R to get over it. My recovery coincides with stopping doing and focusing on rest. Self care isn’t selfish.

I truly believe in times of crisis true colours are very visible. I will be indebted to those who communicated and offered help. I will continue to be kind towards those who I expected more of but haven’t been in touch. To some extent I wonder if they are yet to realise the seriousness of this issue and how long this epidemic will run.

Everything remains magnified by a factor of 10.

GOOD deeds, even the simplest make the difference. I think more time spent talking the better is a great strategy in the near future. This could happen either via the good old fashioned telephone or WhatsApp, FB or Zoom. One of the highlights of my week was our girls u12 hockey training via Zoom last night.

If you have suffered or are suffering from any of the symptoms I have described above please feel free to get in touch if you would like to talk.

The only thing that remains in doubt is if we have had the virus. Hopefully there will be a test soon that will allow both my wife and I to go back to work and to do our bit in more confidence of not spreading this virus any further. I view being infected early as a blessing. Perhaps some good can come as a result of it.

As for the slowchat I think more of the same next week. Under the massive banner of DO LESS BETTER.

One thought on “#teacher5aday #slowchatC19 – my experience of having the covid-19 virus (at least I think I had it!)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.