#teacher5aday #gentlejog 

I’ve been inspired by @fattymustrun to start an online running club for teachers this summer. With 6 weeks of fun ahead of us I wonder how many collective kms we could notch up and how much better we could feel as we return to work in September?

A few years ago I started the NHS couch to 5km programme and followed it to the letter.

http://www.nhs.uk/LiveWell/c25k/Pages/couch-to-5k.aspx

As a footballer in a previous life I enjoyed a small amount of fitness but when pre season would come around I would dread the running sessions. I didn’t think I was built for running. The problem was I had never understood HOW to run. If I can follow the programme and teach myself to do it that I belive anyone can do it.

Roll forward a few years and I would now describe myself as a runner. I’m a fan of a gentle jog and have aimed for the last couple of years to get out 5 times a week for 30 minutes. Last year I enjoyed my best year to date notching up over 1200km in the year but this year since February I’ve had a variety of illnesses which have hindered my progress. So I need your help.

By joining in together with a group of teachers and forming this running club I’m hoping I will get back into my healthy habit inspired by Vivienne Porritt’s call to arms (at #Pedagoohampshire15) to focus on one thing and do it until it becomes a habit.

I’ve only focused on getting out and running for 30mins 5 times a week. I’ve not counted steps or checked out speeds just added the kms as I’ve gone along. I’m hoping this running club is going to develop in the same way. Celebrating people getting out and getting involved.

(the benefits of gentle jogs

http://therunningbug.com/fitness/motivation/the-benefits-of-slow-running?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=slow-running&utm_campaign=slow-running&utm_term=slow-running&utm_content=slow-running)

There is no time like the present to get started so for the next couple of weeks I will try to get out 5 times each week before the holidays start. If I do 3 that’s better than none. I’ve learnt over the years not to be too hard on myself a skill which I’ve taken into my professional life as well.

If you’d like to join in then post a piccie of your feet and one of your view and include the hashtags #teacher5aday and #gentlejog.

Hope you can get involved.

Martyn (2fat2run)

Leave a Reply

