Staff well-being

Jarlath O'Brien

In my first week at a school for students with severe (SLD) and profound and multiple learning difficulties (PMLD) I was badly bitten on the bottom by a girl in Year 4 whilst on duty in the playground. At the end of that same break time I attempted to enter the main building only to find the door handle and, subsequently, my hand covered in human faeces which had been left there by a young boy with autism.

Previously I had worked at a school for boys with social, emotional and behavioural difficulties. Soon after arriving I was sent on a week’s course to become a tutor in restrictive physical intervention. The week after passing the course I stood in the school car park, rooted to the spot, laptop in one hand, lever-arch file in the other, as a Year 10 boy ran from one end of the car park…

View original post 1,213 more words

Leave a Reply

