Our well-being

educationconnected

I think I might be a cautionary tale.

I eat my fruit and veg but when it came to prioritising my own well-being as a teacher, I fell well short of the recommended daily amount. Martyn Reah’s analogy of #5-a-day is useful because it’s not a duvet day, a ‘well-being week’ or the oasis of half term which we struggle towards at crisis point.  It’s about getting into good habits which are assimilated into our routine.  The problem is, most teachers I know will sacrifice these good habits for other perceived good habits such as a bit more planning, a fantastic powerpoint presentation for Year 7 or marking exam papers in unnecessary depth.

I am  an advocate of grass roots change but here, I think Leadership teams have to step up and make space for teachers to #connect, #exercise, #notice, #learn and #volunteer. Leaders can model these values by talking about…

View original post 717 more words

Leave a Reply

