guest post #39 – claire male – @clairembristol

A change is as good as a holiday

It was a big decision to give up a successful career in marketing and retrain to be a teacher. But I can honestly say, that once I had adjusted to life without a company car, a greatly reduced salary and feeling like the world’s oldest PGCE /NQT…it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Furthermore it has cemented in my mind forever that change is good.

change

We all need to mix things up a bit. For me change is what keeps life interesting, and I am firmly with Einstein in thinking that doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is the definition of insanity. (Although admittedly that is where the similarity ends.)

Trying new ideas in my classroom is exciting both for me and my students. Those lessons where new ideas translate into a palpable ‘buzz’ or positive student feedback (“Miss, that was boss” one of my favourites.) The avalanche of ideas from people on twitter far more creative and experienced than me (and too numerous to name check here), garnered at teach meets or ‘magpied’ from corridor conversations with my amazing colleagues. As teachers we rule the roost in our own classrooms and this means we can try new ideas all the time – they might not always work but it really doesn’t matter. We can always change it.

Leave a Reply

