guest post #19 – Sean McDermott – @scjmcd

My reasons for using twitter have evolved. However, my main reason for using it is to share ideas and resources. I started teaching in 2008, aged 43. I was clueless. I had no idea what to do and had no resources. I was fortunate to join a department that couldn’t do enough to help me. Sharing resources is second nature to them and I soaked it all up like a sponge. They instilled in me a belief that collaboration was the best and easiest way for us all to succeed and I have never forgotten this. I cannot understand why all teachers do not have this attitude. Where I have something I feel would be of interest I share it with others.

scjd

When I joined twitter I picked up loads of good ideas and some great resources with those kind enough to share them. I did, however, feel guilty that I all I ever did was asked for help. I made it my mission to share as many resources as I could as soon as I could and if I heard a cry for help I would be there to offer help, guidance and resources where possible. I am still incredulous and extremely disappointed that there aren’t more people who share resources and also there are those that only ever seem to take and not reciprocate. That, however, should not put others off from sharing. If we all shared everything we had, imagine how much extra time we would have for things that really matter.

Why must we always look to reinvent the wheel? I think some are frightened that others will criticise their work, which, of course can be hurtful. Others might feel that as they have spent so much time creating material why should others catch a free ride. I would just say, let’s not be so precious and egocentric. Don’t criticise. If you don’t like something don’t use it but don’t be so arrogant as to think that your material is superior to others. Likewise, if you have a good idea, show it off. Don’t hide your light under a bushel.

I’m not the most creative person in the world but what I have is available for all to use. So if you are in need, feel free to ask. I would be glad to help if I can. I, for one, will continue to share and care on twitter.

Leave a Reply

