lucky

I’m very lucky to live in Hampshire.

I moved down from Leeds in the early part of the last decade and I’m now happy to call it home. This is a big admission for a ‘Mackem’ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mackem who when making university choices selected Birmingham (the mostly southerly of my uni choices) as fifth choice because the south and southerners wasn’t an option!

Not only do I have to pinch myself every day that we live in the middle of a national park and the girls can scoot to school, waving at the cows and sheep en route, but I am also surrounded by great educationalists, who, like Aretha once said, ‘are doing itself for themselves’.

hants

CPD for me over the last 4 ½ years has become increasingly my responsibility and something I look forward to planning and doing. This wasn’t always the case. In the early part of my career in my first few schools I didn’t really enjoy my continued professional learning. In fact, it normally involved looking forward to the obligatory pre INSET day staff night out, followed by a day in school without the need to wear a tie. CPD was done to me.

This changed gently when I moved to Hampshire. HIAS http://www3.hants.gov.uk/education/hias.htm led CPD had a more action research based feel to it. I was encouraged to work in small groups, read again, observe colleagues in a non – threatening environment, ask the students for their views and present the findings of my work at the end of the year (thanks Mrs S and Mrs R for showing me how collaborative learning works). This is a way of learning I have encouraged in each of my subsequent schools.

As well as enjoying the countryside I am also lucky enough to live near to Portsmouth and Southampton which has hosted a number of CPD activities which I have attended over the last four (ish) years. My first teachmeet took place at St. Mary’s Stadium and was a cross phase affair. I’m not sure who organised it but a big thank you for setting me off in the right direction. On reflection a very impressive teachmeet which captured my imagination. I have also enjoyed the variety of offerings served up by David Rogers (@davidErogers) and Jo Debens (@GeoDebs) at #TMPompey. So much so I was inspired to get involved with organising #TMIOW with Rebecca Higgs (@MissRHiggs) and #TMconnectED with Naomi Ward (@naomi7444). A presenter at #TMIOW wowed me so much I also ventured back to Southampton to #TMSoton to see Rachel Jones (@rlj1981). She is the reason I’m sitting down in front of this computer today. Thank you. Most recently I have attended #TMBohunt thank you Nigel Wright (@njw499) and started give up my weekends to attended PedagooSW, PedagooLondon and #TLT13 thanks to all involved in creating learning events which far exceed some of the events delivered by (professional!) other providers which can cost above £350 + vat as well as cover costs whilst taking me away from my school during the working week.

So what does my CPD plan look like for this year?

I am sure term 2 and term 3 will also fill up with teachmeet style events and hopefully this year I will be involved in a summer festival event in Hampshire which will bring together the best educators to share what we do well.

If I’m lucky anyway!

One thought on “lucky

Leave a Reply

